Vintage photography


“Digital photography never looked so analog” that’s what’s said about the Hipstamatic app for the iphone on the app’s website. The app turns your phone’s camera into a replica of the old skool plastic cameras from the past, claiming to capture the look, feel and unpredicted beauty of them. After seeing some friends posting their hipstamatic prints on facebook I was pretty impressed and wanted to try out this app for myself. It was £1.19 (the first app I’ve ever paid for I must add) and after purchasing I got snaping straight away. With a flick of a finger you can change the lens, flash and film used each one creating a slightly different effect. The attention to detail is great, check out the screen shots from my phone (left) I’ll let you decide for yourselves in a minute what you think of the photos this app produces but I’m very impressed.

You get the textures and colours a vintage camera would produce and are left with some wonderful shots. Take a look at my test shots taken with the hipstamatic app. As you can probably tell I favoured the ‘John S’ lens which keeps the colour of the shot but has a grainy texture. I also liked the ‘Kaimal mark 2’ lens which gives that washed out red effect. Enjoy.

Hope you liked my images 🙂 Most of these were taken at my house, my boyfriends, out in Winton or at Uni. More coming soon!

Thoughts Please :)

