Last Week #1


LASTWEEK

♥ T H E  G O O D ♥

Work:
So last week marked my second (and a bit) week of temping. I haven’t really mentioned much about this because I’m saving it up to write a blog post all about my temping experience (the pay, the hours and my general opinion.)  But just to fill you in briefly I’ve signed up with a lovely recruitment agency who send you out on assignments across central London to office assistant or reception based roles. So far I’ve done a Friday on reception for a financial company, the majority of the week before last I helped out with event co-ordination for another financial firm (they had an absolutely lovely kitchen with lots of yummy food and tonnes of tea we could help ourselves to!) and last week I worked right next to Tower Bridge in another reception role.

It was a front desk position at this super posh building called 4 More London.  There was a slight misunderstanding about the dress code when I arrived so spent the first day sheepishly in my light brown (dress code black) top and casual cardy (dress code smart). But despite my NON-EXISTENT funds at the moment I managed to make a dash to Primark to better equip myself. I got a few nice black tops, some patent look high heels and a blazer. Teamed all week with the only pencil skirt I own (also Primarks finest)!

It’s been quite a nice role, 8am – 5pm, and I just had to look attentive at the front desk, sign in visitors, call the companies in the building to announce people etc etc. I’ve spent a fair amount of each day reading blogs because there are long quiet periods. Situated right on the river there was an AMAZING view from the all-glass reception area, but on the downside when you step outside it’s a hurricane. Strong, icy winds that destroy any attempt at nice hair for the day and manage to seep in and make you shiver whilst working. But working in the heart of London is definitely an experience I wouldn’t pass up on. Each day is pretty unique and I had an easy journey this week, ten minutes to London Bridge and a 5 minute walk.

Game of Thrones:
In other things me and John have been plowing through Game of Thrones we only started watching last week and are now halfway through season 2. (Coincidentally season 3 comes out now! so must catch up.) It’s so addictive, confusing at times but fast paced, action filled (a tad gory really) and fascinating. I love things that fall into a high fantasy genre but only when they are structured with a solid back story and a certain level of realism. GOT translates really well to the screen and I think they’ve done a superb job of crafting the world of Westeros and Easteros and intertwining the parallel story lines and the conflicts between characters. Not just one for those with a love for Medieval drama either GOT has depth and is also heavily focused on politics, family values, betrayal and morality.

CORNWALL:
I took John Home to Cornwall for Easter!! which you can read about more h e r e. I had a Lovely Easter weekend with my family and it was also my flatmate’s 23rd birthday so we celebrated that in one of our old haunts in Truro.

Pizza Bus:
We went to our local Deptford pub, which is called The Bird’s Nest, after work this week. Well happy hour ‘one-drink’ turned into happy hour three and before we knew it we were pretty starving! I’d always wanted to try the Pizza Bus next door which is a novelty London double decker bus turned restuarant. It was much better than I expected. The interior of the bus is decked out (haha) nicely with candles on each table and the food was great. There was also a bar and seating area outside with pretty fairy lights! : )

Home made treats:
Made a pretty tasty spagetti bolonaise the other day (the leftovers also turned into chilli) and John made us some American style pancakes which we ate with Bacon, eggs and maple syrup. MMmmmm.

♥  T H E  N O T – S O – G O O D  ♥

Train Etiquette:
I’ve found my rage for how a certain few (in fact most) use the London train and underground system has reached new levels. It’s never pleasant when you have to join the masses and fight your way onto the train, just to stand between someone’s newspaper and another’s armpit (lovely). But it must be done if you need to be somewhere between those peak times and it can be bearable if everyone just showed a little train etiquette! Now I rush myself, it’s hard not to match the pace those mornings require, but it really riles me when you get someone behind you stepping on your heels when YOU CAN’T GET ANY FASTER. I always shoot them a dagger look. Same goes for when the overground train pulls into the station and you get that eager guy by the door pressing the ‘Open’ button repeatedly before you’ve even stopped. You’re already rolling your eyes at him and waiting to get off, then someone behind you starts elbowing through trying to pass you in their panic to disembark. Just be calm, be patient we’re all going the same way! It’s so frustrating and makes an already unpleasant journey even more so. Rant over.

Early Mornings:
I. do. not. like.

Mess:
No matter how often it feels like I tidy my room… mess finds me again! I need to get a bit more organised I think and start making my room prettier.


Thoughts Please :)

