Easter 2013 ♥ Cornwall


Last weekend was the Easter bank holiday and I can tell you a touch of escapism was greatly needed! My life in London lately has been a bit rocky (to say the least), I’ve been between jobs, have an unsightly bank balance and am just in one of those what-am-I-doing-with-my-life-black-holes!! (Okay touch dramatic) But you get the picture. So when my flatmate, who is also from Cornwall, decided to head back home for her birthday on Good Friday I thought I’d take the excuse to go back too, celebrate with her and catch up with my family. As an added bonus I got to drag John with me (mwahaha) to show him where I’m from and allow him to get scrutinised by my mum (which didn’t happen – she’s lovely.)

So me, John, Pandee & Brie set off at 4.30am on Friday the 29th! We made quite a sleepy bunch dragging ourselves from South East London to Paddington in the wee hours. What didn’t help was the fact we’d been awake watching Game of Thrones at 1am (and admittedly I was still packing). Our original plan was to get the 5.30pm Megabus home on Thursday (we were both working that day) and the coach made sense as it is the cheapest (albeit most uncomfortable & longest) way to travel to down to the far corner of the UK. Although, as is usual with me and my last-minute-ness, things didn’t go to plan. The Megabus sold out : ( and I was thrown in to a mad panic because we couldn’t afford the train at least until I saw there was one at 6am on Good Friday for a fraction of the price. Again though I didn’t really think about it in great detail and it was only the night before that we realised there were no trains or tubes to get us directly to Paddington at 5am so we had to opt for a grueling one hour night bus which was naturally the perfect way to start a long day of travelling : | My little jelly squids were perfectly behaved on the train and Brie even had a little stretch of her legs on our seats to the horror/fascination/joy of the other travelers. John was pretty impressed by the sea when the train hit the coast as he said he hadn’t seen it since he was 17! (Aww) In all honesty though it just goes to show how easy it is to take natural beauty for granted and growing up by the coast has meant I definitely don’t always appreciate the sea and the beautiful beaches we have. must. do. more.

cornwall1

Anyway so we pulled in to the beautiful station of Camborne (haha it’s really not beautiful) at about 1.30pm a little tired and extremely hungry. We went back to my home, let the rats settle and I caught up with my mum and brothers. But we didn’t have long to rest before we caught the train to Truro for Lucy’s birthday celebrations! We ate out in a really nice restaurant called Bustophers I had this posh looking chicken dish with ‘fondant potatoes’ (didn’t have a clue what they were!) and lots of wine. John had the steak though which made me very jealous (but not of the price tag!) The evening was just perfect because I got to spend time with my Cornish girls, and since going separate ways after University, this is always cherished. The night got a bit more merry, was filled with Jäger bombs, lots of photos and dancing. We moved onto Spoons then Vanilla Bar before ending up in one of our college day haunts L2 nightclub.

♥ Me and my girls. My outfit: black skinny jeans, peplum top & heeled trainers all primark.
Birthday girl, Rhos and Mike. More pics of us! ♥

The rest of the weekend was relaxed. We spent time at home watching films with my family, went down to Godrevy for a walk on Saturday and then to Carbis Bay and St Ives on Easter Sunday. Got to partake in (and win!!) an Easter Egg hunt with Aidan (my little brother) and John. Enjoyed mum’s classic Sunday roast and indulged in a bit too much cake and chocolate >.< It was a lovely break away from the city and a reality shock when we had to endure the 8 hour Megabus back on the Monday at 5am!! Time back home is always special and I’m so happy I go to spend some time in one of the most beautiful places in the country with my favourite people : ) Hope you enjoy my pictures.

♥ Mums Easter cake | Aidan & John | Easter bunnies | Chocolate overdose | Sunday Roast
Sleepy cat | Caves | Early mornings | Exploring | John at Carbis Bay | Cat attack | Friday night  ♥

What did you get up to for the Easter weekend? Has anyone visited Cornwall before, what are your thoughts? I love being by the seaside and feel lucky to have grown up there!

One thought on “Easter 2013 ♥ Cornwall

  1. Pingback: Last Week #1 | P a n d a P o p

Thoughts Please :)

